The drive

If you know me in real life the only way you don’t know about my obsession with CrossFit is if you’re deaf. Or maybe blind. Because it’s pretty impossible to miss, especially to people outside of the box. I eat, sleep, and breathe it, and I’m not even a pro at it. Far from it, actually. But I like to think that one day I’ll get there. Or like, close-ish to there. I’m still a newbie to this game, but I’ve been living CrossFit for almost exactly 5 months now — a little less if you don’t include the two weeks I unintentionally had to take off last month — and the drive to compete that I had the first time I walked into the box is still there. Especially after the goddamn amazingness that I witnessed a few days ago, which left me feeling like this:

mind blown

Over this past weekend, CrossFit Regionals for the Mid Atlantic Region were held about 45 minutes from my house. I spent Friday and Saturday hovered around my computer watching live footage, refreshing the Leaderboard stats, stalking the CrossFit Woodbridge Facebook page and Twitter account, and whining about how unfair it was that I was stuck at home and being forced to hang out with my family instead of cheering on my fellow athletes in Landover. So Sunday morning I snuck out of the house before all the kids woke up and spent the day watching CrossFit Woodbridge’s rookie team take 5th place overall for the region, blowing all the other rookie teams, and a crap ton of experienced teams, out of the water.

CFW team